How not to work remotely?

How not to work remotely?

Digital nomad life in nutshell.

Being digital nomad is of the most rewarding yet hectic experiences of my life, and I thought I'd share some thoughts about it. I lived on 4 different continents and more than 20 countries in last 2 years. Between social media post where I was smiling, there was often times - me struggling.

After few months of traveling, I felt completely disconnected from usual life and it was hard to define new “usual”. The constant challenge of working while simultaneously figuring out where I to stay next week or month had taken its part. Things like acquiring a SIM card, finding coworking spaces, gym, laundry, handling logistics, integrating into the local community, demands time, effort, and energy. I am not even starting on juggling time zones and Airbnb changes last minute. Too much freedom came with an overwhelming sense of needing to constantly make decisions and it was hard to navigate.

Where should I go next? What should I do? Why? Where do I meet new people? I was caught in a never-ending cycle of planning and executing, leaving no room for simply being and focusing on my well-being. Weekends always seemed like an opportunity to explore because, it felt obvious to make the most of it. Because you live only once, right? It's was like being caught in a whirlwind of fun events and new experiences, all under the pressure of being best employee possible, which of course was the way to burnout.

That being said, this experience was truly transformative and irreversibly changed me, as I had to learn to be honest with myself. And I would recommend anyone to go out of the box or the script for a while and just live. Only by following the urge to explore, I can appreciate the joy of living in one place AND BE ENOUGH.

So for anyone contemplating about remote work, I'd like to share some insights based on my experience:

Things to be aware:

  1. Dealing with unknown factors, like canceled flights or Airbnb location in less-than-ideal neighborhood.

  2. Discovering that being in a cool place on the map didn't necessarily translate to a cool lifestyle.

Things that cause the most pain:

  1. Finding a workspace with a stable internet connection.

  2. Coping with dropped internet connections during important calls.

  3. Identifying healthy eating options.

  4. Locating accommodation near gym in walking distance.

  5. Initiating conversations and forging new connections to have people to hang out with.

  6. Saying NO to once-in-a-lifetime experiences (FOMO) when friends continued their adventures to remote places that not possible to join.

  7. Constant farewells, understanding that our paths might never cross again.

Things I would do differently:

  1. Have alternative plans for the upcoming months.

  2. Opt to visit places where I have friends or some sense of community, as it often provides the same comfort as home.

  3. Define a clear trajectory, goals, and routines that are not contingent on location. This helps to maintain a sense of progress and purpose, preventing feelings of aimlessness.

  4. Prioritize self-care and attentiveness to body's needs.

Things that I loved the most:

  1. Meeting like-minded people. Because you know, travel buddies stay in your heart forever <3

  2. Randomness of life. Some event/one conversation can bring you to the place that you would never ever imagine in your life.

  3. Learning in failing. You can only find out what you want by trying, you cant sit in your room and think it in theory, you have to take an action and experience it.

And if you feel like sharing your experience or just want to say hi, I would be happy to connect http://bit.ly/3TRcNYe <3